Great Summer Reads

Got some hammock time in front of you? Here are Boulder Book Store's picks for summer 2019.

Daisy Jones & the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

You might think you know what happened to break up Daisy Jones & the Six, but you’ve never heard it from them. Told as an oral history, this riveting work will pull you in from page one and never let go. These fictional characters and their songs will tug on your heartstrings and have you canceling plans so you can read more.
—Reviewed by Olivia

Mistress of the Ritz by Melanie Benjamin

Blanche is the American wife of Claude Auzello, manager of the fabled Ritz Hotel. Both are drawn into the Resistance, while trying to protect their beloved hotel and its employees. Compelling reading and a chance to hate Nazis all over again.
—Reviewed by Harry

The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand

Elin Hilderbrand is the queen of all things summer, and this book does not disappoint. A dead body on a wedding day is the worst sort of luck…or is it? Couples abound in this breezy summer read. While everyone has his or her secrets, some couples are better at staying quiet.
—Reviewed by Olivia

Wordslut by Amanda Montell

Fun, shameless, and loaded with facts, Wordslut covers hundreds of years of linguistic history and today’s cutting-edge research. If you love words, feminism, or sociology, Wordslut is a must-read.
—Reviewed by Gene

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcast by Stuart Turton

Part Agatha Christie, part Groundhog Day, this book shows us the same murder from eight different pairs of eyes so readers have to try to figure out who pulls the trigger before it actually happens. There are a few twists and turns in here that will keep you reading through the night, trying to figure out the clues for yourself.
—Reviewed by Brad

The Guest Book by Sarah Blake

Tensions are high when characters are forced to choose between family secrets and family loyalty. Blake writes an impactful saga following three generations, all struggling with the past in their own ways. This book is un-put-down-able and is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.
—Reviewed by Olivia

Boulder Book Store
1107 Pearl St., Boulder